Nazarian College Student Elected President of Associated Students

Matadors Leading Forward candidates Jonathan Hay and Kaitlyn Orozco have been elected the president and vice president of the Associated Students for the 2021-2022 academic year.

“I am truly grateful for the opportunity CSUN students gave us. Kaitlyn and I have so many things planned for next year and can’t wait to get started on them,” Hay said.

The duo, who won with 58% of the total vote, ran under the Matadors Leading Forward campaign, which focuses on the pillars “giving back,” “transparency” and “support.” They plan to connect with the entire student body, create inclusive spaces for students to amplify their voices and expand student resources.

“I am absolutely honored to be elected as the next AS Vice President, alongside my presidential running mate Jonathan,” Orozco said. “Right now, I’m incredibly thankful for all the individuals who supported us throughout our campaign journey. I really couldn’t have asked for a better support system! I’m looking forward to taking action and bringing some real change to our campus!”

The election results were announced last night by AS Chair of Elections Evelyn Jimenez on Instagram Live. Jimenez also announced the results for the senate and University Student Union Board of Directors, which are listed below:

Lower Division senators:

Upper Division senators:

Graduate senators:

College of Arts, Media and Communication senators:

College of Business and Economics senators:

College of Engineering and Computer Science senators:

College of Health and Human Development senator:

College of Science and Math senators:

College of Social and Behavioral Sciences senators:

University Student Union Board of Directors: